Thursday morning was the first day of my new class. It is Inorganic Chemistry, from 8-9:15 on Tuesdays and Thursdays. I'm pretty excited about this class because a) I'm a dork, b) I'm better at this learning thing in the mornings, and c) parking at UAB shouldn't be as big of a problem at 8 as it was at 3.
So, I get up Thursday morning, leave home at 7:15 (15 minutes later than I wanted to), and hit the interstate for the drive downtown. I-459 is not bad at all. The ramp to I-65N is a little slow, but moving. And, I-65N itself, is not exactly hell, but really close. I am a little nervous about getting to this first class on time, so I'm weaving in and out of traffic to try to make it in as little amount of time as I can. I hit University Blvd. about 7:45, pretty impressed with myself. Well, that is the worst part. I never imagined that it would be so slow moving--completely stupid of me...of course it will be. Everybody starts work at 8 am and there are a lot of people that work down there...DUH!
About 5 minutes later, I make the 2 blocks to 14th street, and make a right. Holy Crap, all of the parallel spots on the street are already full. Wtf?? Oh, wait--there is one...ahha! It's the last one I see, right behind a black SUV. Then, I look up, and crap--there is a handicap sign (minimum fine: $500). Wait a second, the lines and curb aren't blue on this spot. They are blue on the spot where the black SUV is. And, that spot doesn't have a sign. The idiots at the parking office put the sign in the wrong spot..that has to be what happened! Ok, I'm only going to be here for a max of 1.25 hours. I'll feed the meter so I won't draw any attention. Now, getting out of your car on 14th is a little tricky. You have to constantly watch out of your side mirror for a spot to open the door and hop out. My backpack is in the backseat on my side, so I have to allow enough time to get out, open the door, get my backpack out and get to the curb without being sideswiped by another person late for their first day of class.
When I finally see a break, I jump out the car, wallet and cell phone in hand, open the back door, throw the items in the pocket of the backpack and get to the curb. Whew! And, I have about 6 or 7 minutes to get to class. And, I'm close, so no big deal. Yes! I made it. I get halfway down the block to my class building and realize that I left my freakin keys in the car. Now, I normally leave my keys in the car when I park at my house and stuff, so this isn't a surprise. But, I'm pretty sure I left them in the back seat when I was putting the wallet and phone in my backpack. Well, I could leave them. I mean, it's not like someone is going to go through my car looking for my keys, right? Ohhh, I have time...I'll go get them.
On my way back to the car, I catch one of my new grad student buddies headed my way. I asked him if he was going to the same class...yes! Good--someone else that I'll know. That's good. I'm always looking for study partners and help! Chat with him a minute. Then, tell him I'm running back to my car to get something and I'll see him class. I get to the car, open the passenger side door. THE RADIO IS PLAYING. OMG! I left my freakin keys in the ignition and the car is running. DUMBASS! I have a momentary panic that I could be so absent minded. Then, I'm relieved that I actually came back. And, finally, I laugh because that is just so freakin stupid, only I can do it and laugh!
Brandon said I won the Dumbass Award for that. DeAdria said that is my dumbass moment for life--I can't have anymore. I quickly inform her that this is just my story of the week...not my life. And, I amaze her with some of my other stupidities. Danielle doesn't understand how I can be so smart and so dumb all at the same time.
What can I say? It's part of my charm...
By 30, and bye-bye 20's.
13 years ago

No comments:
Post a Comment