Ok, so my Love (Brandon, aka B) had a birthday this past Monday. I was at a complete loss of what to get him for a great present. I knew that he is all about hiking and camping (and I'm soooo not!), so I figured it would be a great present (and a super nice gesture) to surprise him with a weekend trip camping! With a lot of help from quite a few people (big shout out to Greg), I got everything I needed, and decided that Noccolula Falls in Gadsden would be a good destination. It isn't that far away but looked cute and full of activities.
Leading up to this event, I'm all excited because I'm totally going to surprise him and he is probably going to shit his pants. Friday night, as I'm driving to his house, trunk loaded down with camping gear I know nothing about, it hit me that I'm completely clueless. Yes, I'm excited about the adventure, but I'm terrified of no bathroom, cooking my food on a fire, not sleeping in a bed, blah, blah, blah. As I'm driving, it hits me...I'm so Troop Beverly Hills in this relationship!
You have to remember that movie! Don't even lie--you loved it too. Yes, I was the one saying, "I can make crafts." Just a side note: I packed 4 pairs of shoes for 2 nights away from home, camping. I thought I did good!
So, here I am, completely prepared for something I know nothing about, and getting more scared of the reality of sleeping outside, by the minute. Mm hmm...the entire movie is running through my head. Then, I quickly shift to the movie Parent Trap. The honey attracted the big grizzly bear to tear up that tent. Oh shit! Note to self: throw honey away at gas station when stopping. Is there anything else I should know? I got a whole case of water (and a whole case of beer for sanity), a loaf of bread, poptarts, chips, peanut butter, the works!
Deep breaths! Whew...I'm going to be ok!
So, a couple of hours later, we get there, get the tent set up, air up the mattress (you didn't really think I was sleeping on the ground, did you?), and set up our chairs for a few beers. Ahhh...the sound of the outside is so great. I'm tired...let's go to bed. Umm. Scuse me...I have to pee. Ugh...that's a 2 minute walk to the other side of the park. Better not hold it too long. Beer is a bad thing because you have to pee too much!
Well, I made it through the night, slept pretty good even...the next night, we roughed it at the Hilton in Chattanooga. That's another story entirely that I will post soon enough!
I came, I conquered!
By 30, and bye-bye 20's.
13 years ago

No comments:
Post a Comment